External Advisory Committee

Comprised of established scientific leaders from prominent international institutions the External Advisory Committee provides expert, third-party, evidenced-based input on strategic and operational aspects of the School. Meet our EAC below.

SBME Strategic Plan

Our External
Advisory Committee

Alison Marsden, PHD

Associate Professor | Stanford
Wall Center Scholar | Depts of Pediatrics, Bioengineering, and Mechanical Engineering
Member | Bio-X



C. Ross Ethier, PHD

Lawrence L. Gellerstedt, Jr. Eminent Scholar
in Bioengineering
Professor | Wallace H. Coulter Dept. of Biomedical Engineering
Professor | Georgia Institute of Technology & Emory University
Member | Georgia Research Alliance


Douglas Lauffenburger, PhD

Ford Professor of Biological Engineering, Chemical Engineering, and Biology | MIT


Gina Ogilvie, MD, MSc, FCFP, DrPH

Professor of Medicine | UBC
Canada Research Chair in global control of HPV-related cancer
Assistant Director | Women’s Health Research Institute
Senior Public Health Scientist | BC Centre for Disease Control


Milos Popovich, PhD, PEng

Professor of Biomedical Engineering | UofT
Senior Scientist | Toronto Rehab Chair in Spinal Cord Injury Research & Research
Director | The KITE Research Institute at University Health Network


Nancy Allbritton, MD, PhD

Professor of Bioengineering | University of Washington
Frank & Julie Jungers Dean | College of Engineering